Gnome 3

No, this is not another post to describe my feelings about Gnome 3, what we should have done or should we have shipped Gnome 2 instead ;)

This post is more of an open question to the community for some information that I cannot find. I almost finished the configuration of my setup in Gnome 3 but I have some interrogation :

1 – I tried to remove the keyboard applet in the system tray with the same logic that the nobluetooth and noa11y extension. This effectively work but leave me with the default Gnome 2 keyboard applet. And I cannot seems to find a way to remove that one.

2 – I cannot find where the configuration for the launcher in the favourite bar are stored. I know that we can edit the menus with “alacarte” but I want to see where Gnome 3 store that an application should appear in the favourite bar.

3 – I search the documentation to see how Gnome 3 track the applications windows to highlight running applications in the favourite bar and found nothing. I know it’s not based on the window title with my experiment but I found no other way.

Also, if anyone want to hide the battery icon apart from when it’s charging/discharging (like in Gnome 2), you can run this command as your user :

GSETTINGS_BACKEND=dconf gsettings set org.gnome.power-manager icon-policy charge

Apart from that, I find that Gnome 3 is really powerful with an easy extension system, just look at the number of extensions that got out since Gnome 3 was launched. I look forward to what can be done!

6 thoughts on “Gnome 3

  1. Pingback: lacapitaleblogue.com | Gnome 3 « Jeff’s Blog

  2. 2- This is somewhere in gsettings. However, I’m not sure alacarte can be used in Gnome-Shell.

    3- This has to do with the desktop file that was used to run the application.

  3. Thanks to you both, it will help me continue to customize my Gnome 3 experience a little bit more.

    Also, alacarte work fine in Gnome 3, it edit the menus like before and it show up in the Applications “Activities” fine.

  4. To add a custom launcher to Gnome Favourites Menu

    - Either create the .desktop file in “/usr/share/applications” or use “alacarte” to create it for you.
    - Go to Activities -> Applications List, you should find your new launcher here, right click on it and select “Add to Favourites”

  5. #2 gsettings get org.gnome.shell favorite-apps

    you can use gsettings set to set the value of the key (favorite-apps)

Leave a Reply

